Continuing Education

Welcome to Continuing Education at the School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. 

Our CE programs embrace artists and designers of all ages and backgrounds—high school students, second-career students, art teachers, individuals ready to take their studio practice to the next level and those who are just beginning to explore art-making. SMFA's extraordinary faculty, all professional practicing artists or designers, mentor and motivate every student in their practice.

SMFA offers individual classes, certificates and specialized programs for all levels. Continuing Education courses at the School allow you to immerse yourself in art-making and creativity while maintaining your work and family schedules. Register now and become a part of an extraordinary community of working artists and designers.

Search Offerings Now:
Fall 2015 courses + workshops
Spring 2016 courses + workshops

Fall 2015 Important Dates:
Tuesday, September 8
CE fall Classes Begin at SMFA

Monday, October 12
Columbus Day, no CE classes

Tuesday, November 10
Substitute Wednesday's class schedule

Wednesday, November 11
Veteran's Day, no CE classes

Wednesday, November 25–Sunday, November 29
Thanksgiving Break, no CE classes

Monday, December 21
CE Fall Session ends

Spring 2016 Important Dates:
Thursday, January 21
CE spring classes begin

Saturday, February 13
No Saturday CE Classes

Monday, February 15
Presidents Day, no CE classes

Thursday, February 18
Substitute Monday's class schedule

Friday, March 4
Faculty Development Day; No classes at SMFA

Saturday, March 19
Saturday CE classes are in session

Monday, March 21–Sunday, March 27
Spring Break: No CE classes this week

Monday, April 18
Patriot's Day, No CE Classes

Monday, May 9
CE spring classes end

Certificate Programs in Graphic Design and Illustration
Learn more about certificates that can lead to a career in graphic design or illustration.

Continuing Education Youth Options 
Learn more about spending a summer at SMFA—the Pre-College Summer Studio immerses rising high-school juniors and seniors in an interdisciplinary approach to artmaking. During the fall and spring semesters, high school students are welcome to enroll in any regular Continuing Education course or workshop, as well as in our high school-specific workshops. 

Studio Diploma Program 
Interested in taking your practice to the next level? Learn more about SMFA's Studio Diploma program, for those looking to shape and develop their own studio practice.

Advising for Continuing Education 
Call us at 617-369-3644 to request one-on-one advising with faculty and staff who will help you navigate the School's CE offerings and create paths of study based on your strengths and interests and the School's interdisciplinary philosophy.

Career Services
The Career Services Office offers career advising, job links, internships, professional-focus courses, community-partnership opportunities and a wealth of online resources, such as artSource. 

SMFA Continuing Education Office Office Hours:
230 The Fenway
Boston, MA 02115

Monday–Friday, 9 am–5 pm

During the fall and spring sessions:
Monday–Thursday, 9 am–7 pm
Friday, 9 am–5 pm

During the summer session:
Monday–Friday, 9 am–5 pm