Leadership + Mission


The mission of the School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston is to provide an education in the fine arts—for artists at all levels—that is interdisciplinary and self-directed. This education values cultural, artistic and intellectual diversity; it embraces a wide range of media; it stresses the development of individual vision and its relation to culture in general; it values equally the knowledge gained by thinking and doing; it is deeply engaged with the world as a whole. If the mission is constant, its practice is always transforming.


SMFA Trustees
Robert Nagle, Chair
Kevin Callaghan, ex-officio
Abigail Ross Goodman
Nicholas P. Greville
Katherine R. Kirk 
Louis Menand
Sandra O. Moose, ex-officio
Carol Noble 
Lee M. Pelton
Lis Tarlow, ex-officio​​

Trustess invited ex-officio
David Croll, President-Elect, MFA

Elected SMFA Governors
Pedro Alonzo
Lucille Aptekar
Brenda Bancel
Daren Bascome
Cathy M. Bennigson, Chair Emerita
Annette L. Born
Karen Bressler
​Margaret Burnham
Julie Callaghan
Catherine Creighton
Erica Daborn, ex-officio
Carol Daynard
Lee E. Doyle
Todd Finard 
Joseph Freeman
Susan B. Kaplan
Francesca Piper Koss
Joyce Linde
Norma Lopez
Faith Michaels
Phyllis Anina Moriarty
Andrea Notman Sahin
Jeannie Suk 
Demetra Taleghani

Honorary SMFA Governors
Barbara L. Alfond
Brigitte Bradford
Cathryn Griffith
Martin M. Hale
Lorie Hamermesh
David P. Handlin 
Gay Hapgood
Portia Harcus
​Melville T. Hodder
Judith Scott Larsen
Barbara Cole Lee
Anthony Lucas
Ann D. Macomber
Sandra O. Moose
Robert E. Remis
Chris Rifkin
Ruth Scheer
Ann Schwarz
Stanley Snider
Alan J. Strassman 
Rosamond B. Vaule
Jack H. Vernon