Past Recipients of the SMFA Medal Award

The SMFA Medal Award honors individuals who have made a significant and lasting impact on the art world, and recognizes their commitment to diversifying and communicating with the world through art. The Medal Award was first presented in 1996 on the occasion of the 125th anniversary of the founding of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. In the time since, the School has paid tribute to some of the most noteworthy artists and influential art patrons of our time including:

Mona Hatoum
John Baldessari
Sarah Sze
John Wilson*
Glenn Ligon
Lalla Essaydi*
Susan Paine
Will Barnet*
Deborah H. Dluhy
Omer Fast*
Alex Katz
Julian Schnabel
Brice Marden
Kiki Smith
Jim Dine*
Claes Oldenburg and Coosje van Bruggen
Jeff Koons
Robert Rauschenberg
Ellen Gallagher*
Mike and Doug Starn*
Arnold and Milly Glimcher
Esther Anderson*
Nan Goldin*
Ellsworth Kelly*

The SMFA Medal is endowed through the generosity of Carol and Arnold Haynes.

*SMFA Alumni