Support for exploration and research are critical in an artist's career. SMFA has a strong history of providing those opportunities, none more important or enduring than the SMFA Traveling Fellows program. Since 1899, this program has awarded funds to select artists for post-graduate work and travel. Over the years these awards have recognized the most innovative, ambitious work, including notable alumni Nan Goldin, Mike and Doug Starn, Ellen Gallagher, Omer Fast, Cliff Evans, and Rachel Perry Welty.

Step-by-step instructions are offered on our online application page

2017 Traveling Fellows Announcement
2016 Traveling Fellows Announcement

2017 Traveling Fellow Solo Exhibition
Among the 10 Fellows awarded funds in 2015, Boston-based painter Daniela Rivera (MFA 2006) has been selected to present a solo exhibition at the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston (MFA). 

Rivera's solo presentation, featuring new work based on her research, will be curated by Jen Mergel and is scheduled for March 4–September 17, 2017 in the MFA's Linde Family Wing for Contemporary Art. The MFA and SMFA wish Daniela sincere congratulations! Read more about Daniela's work »

2016 Traveling Fellow Solo Exhibition
Sean Townley (BFA/Diploma '09) has been selected from the 2014 Traveling Fellows to present an exhibition at the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston opening in April 2016. Stay tuned for more information.

Image Credit: Sean Townley, New Foundations, a study of a replica, 2013. Plastic and steel. Courtesy of the artist.

2016 Fellows Announced

A jury comprised of Bree Edwards, Director of the Northeastern Center for the Arts; Arnold Kemp, artist and SMFA alumnus; and Jeffrey Lee, co-founder of the Ryan Lee gallery in New York, awarded 10 fellowships from a pool of 190 alumni applicants.

The 10 recipients have approximately one year to complete their travels. At the conclusion of those travels, their works will be reviewed again and one artist from this distinguished group will be selected for a 2018 solo presentation at the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.

Erik Benjamins (MFA 2012)
Stephen St. Francis Decky (Diploma 2011, MFA 2013)
Coorain Devin (Combined Degree 2013)
Corey Dunlap (BFA 2013)
Ryan Hawk (BFA 2013)
Maia Lynch (MFA 2013)
Laura Beth Reese (MFA 2013)
Daniel Rich (MFA 2004)
Keith Walsh (MFA 1992)
Toshiki Yashiro (MFA 2014)

If you have any questions, please contact SMFA Exhibitions at 617-369-3656.